Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Leader Russo Announces Ohio the First State to Break Ground on EV Fast Charger Station Under NEVI Plan

October 18, 2023
C. Allison Russo News

COLUMBUS – Ohio House Minority Leader Allison Russo (D-Upper Arlington) today applauds the announcement that Ohio is the first state in the nation to break ground on an electric vehicle (EV) charging station built as part of the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Program under President Joe Biden.

“This is a proud moment for Ohio, and I am grateful to the Biden Administration for leading the charge in making it happen,” said Leader Russo. “Breaking ground on the nation’s first NEVI charging station is a testament to Ohio’s commitment in the transition to electric vehicles and doing our part for the environment. These stations will make it easier for Ohioans to drive electric, provide good-paying jobs, and sends a message to the rest of the country that Ohio is open for business in the clean energy economy.”

This milestone is the latest in a series of major EV advancements made by the state in recent years. Ohio was the first state in the nation to release a request for charging station proposals last year, which was a strategic move to put Ohio ahead of other states for sought-after equipment and specialized technicians to install the stations. Showing a continued urgency to give Ohioans an advantage in the shift to electric, Ohio was also the first state in the country to announce the future sites of its first round of EV charging stations.

The nation's first NEVI charging station is being built at the Pilot Travel Center along Interstate 70 on U.S. Route 42, west of Columbus. In addition to this first site along I-70, construction is expected to begin soon on more than two dozen fast charging stations funded by NEVI across the state. All chargers installed as part of the first round are anticipated to be operational by the end of 2024.

In total, Ohio will receive $140 million in federal NEVI funds over the next five years to support the installation of EV charging stations across the state.