Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Bipartisan Group of State Reps. Read Declaration of Independence

July 3, 2023
Sean P. Brennan News

COLUMBUS- State Rep. Sean Patrick Brennan (D-Parma) recently invited his colleagues on both sides of the aisle to join him in reading the Declaration of Independence for the 247th birthday of our nation. 31 members of the Ohio House of Representatives collaborated with him on the project, which was produced by the Ohio Channel.  The bipartisan group is made of 16 Democrats and 15 Republicans.

A public school teacher of American history and government for three decades, Rep. Brennan believes in the power of having students study primary source documents, emphasizing the Charters of Freedom – the Declaration of Independence, U.S. Constitution, and Bill of Rights, all of which hung in his classroom and now in his Statehouse office.

“We are Americans and Ohioans before we are Democrats and Republicans,” said Rep. Brennan. “One of my top priorities at the Statehouse is to find ways of bringing my fellow legislators together – to get to know one another – to build relationships – this is the key to working together collegially and this is when Ohio’s 12-million people benefit. I am honored that so many of my colleagues reached out excitedly to work on this project. Although we do not always see eye to eye, one of the things we all agree on is that the United States of America is the greatest nation on earth.  It is truly an honor to work with them all.”

To view the bipartisan reading of the Declaration of Independence, visit:

The following representatives joined Rep. Brennan in reading the Declaration of Independence:

Rep. Tavia Galonski (District 35)

Rep. Bill Dean (District 71)

Rep. Terrence Upchurch (District 20)

Rep. Melanie Miller (District 67)

Rep. Joe Miller (District 53)

Rep. Bob Peterson (District 91)

Rep. Michele Grim (District 43)

Rep. Gail Pavliga (District 72)

Rep. Daniel Troy (District 23)

Rep. Sarah Fowler Arthur (District 99)

Rep. Richard Dell’Aquila (District 15)

Rep. Jennifer Gross (District 45)

Rep. Darnell Brewer (District 18)

Rep. Gary Click (District 88)

Rep. Mary Lightbody (District 4)

Rep. Monica Robb-Blasdel (District 79)

Rep. Jessica Miranda (District 28)

Rep. Tim Barhorst (District 85)

Rep. Dani Isaacsohn (District 24)

Rep. Sara Carruthers (District 47)

Rep. Elliot Forhan (District 21)

Rep. Bill Roemer (District 31)

Rep. Rachel Baker (District 27)

Rep. Roy Klopfenstein (District 82)

Rep. Richard Brown (District 5)

Rep. Adam Mathews (District 56)

Rep. Allison Russo (District 7)

Rep. Jim Thomas  (District 49)

Rep. Dave Dobos (District 10)

Rep. Lauren McNally (District 59)