Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Retention Incentives Awarded to First Responders in Summit County

August 7, 2023
Bill Roemer News

COLUMBUS –State Rep. Bill Roemer (R-Richfield) announced that several police and fire departments in Summit County will receive retention bonus grants. The incentives are awarded in appreciation of the work first responders do to promote public safety and their ongoing commitment to public service. 

More than 270 law enforcement officers, firefighters, and EMS personnel across Summit County will receive retention incentives grants as part of the Ohio First Responder Recruitment, Retention, and Resilience Program, which was created to address first responder burnout caused by understaffing and overall job stress.

“Being mentally and emotionally prepared is essential to our first responders as they work each day to protect the communities they serve,” said Roemer. “These grants will increase wellness resources for first responders, recruitment efforts, and help offset training costs.”

Grant recipients in the 31st Ohio House District are as follows:

  • Copley Township Fire Department: $106,306.03
  • Copley Township Police Department: $91,511.40
  • Northfield Village Fire Department: $56,024
  • Norton Police and Fire Departments: $153,260
  • Reminderville Police Department: $38,453.36
  • Richfield Fire and Police Department: $170,264.90
  • Southwest Council of Governments: $75,214
  • Valley Fire District: $35,021.79

Approximately $100 million has been awarded to emergency response agencies through the Ohio First Responder Recruitment, Retention, and Resilience Program since its launch in 2022.