Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Margy Conditt to Resign from Ohio House

August 24, 2017
Republican Newsroom

COLUMBUS—Speaker of the Ohio House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) today announced that State Representative Margy Conditt (R-Liberty Township) will be resigning from her seat in the Ohio House, effective September 8th.

“I will always treasure my six years in the Ohio House of Representatives,” Conditt said. “Serving the people of Butler County will forever be one of the greatest honors I will ever experience. After much prayer and careful thought, I have decided it is best for me to resign from the House in order to spend more time with my family, and I am at peace with this decision.”

Rep. Conditt is serving her third full term in the Ohio House in the 52nd District, which includes West Chester Township, Liberty Township, Fairfield Township and part of Sharonville. During her time in the House, Conditt has been a passionate and tireless advocate for protecting the unborn, including in her role as vice chair of the Community and Family Advancement Committee. She also joint-sponsored the Ohio ABLE Act, a first-of-its-kind program that allows individuals with disabilities to create tax-advantaged savings accounts, giving them more freedom and flexibility over their financial futures.

“Representative Conditt has been a passionate and faithful servant to the people of Butler County throughout her tenure in the Ohio House, and it has been a privilege to serve alongside her,” Rosenberger said. “Her integrity, humility and respect for this institution has set a positive example for anyone who follows in her footsteps. She will be sorely missed by everyone in the House. I wish her the very best in the years ahead, and I will always feel fortunate to call her a friend.”

To vet applicants and determine a replacement for the 52nd District seat, Speaker Rosenberger has assembled a three-person screening panel, to be chaired by Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton). Reps. Sarah LaTourette (R-Bainbridge Township) and Bob Cupp (R-Lima) are the panel’s other appointees.

Individuals interested in filling the vacant seat should send a cover letter, resume and any supporting documentation to:

Speaker Cliff Rosenberger
c/o Mike Dittoe, Chief of Staff
77 S. High Street, 14th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Materials can also be emailed to All applications must be submitted by September 1, 2017 at 5 p.m. to be considered.

The Speaker expects to swear in a replacement during the September 13th House session.