Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Ohio House Passes Legislation to Support the Ohio Breast and Cervical Cancer Project

Ohioans may contribute portion of tax refunds for early detection, screenings, outreach
May 8, 2013
Republican Newsroom

State Representatives Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) and Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) have announced that the Ohio House of Representatives today passed House Bill 112, legislation to allow taxpayers to contribute a portion of their income tax refunds to the Ohio Breast and Cervical Cancer Project.

The Ohio Breast and Cervical Cancer Project was established in 1994 by the Ohio Department of Health to address the need for economically disadvantaged women to detect breast and cervical cancer in its earliest stages. In the years since its inception, the BCCP has provided screening, diagnostic testing, and case management services to over 70,000 low-income women. The funds from the legislation will be used for breast and cervical cancer screening, diagnostic, and outreach services to uninsured or under-insured women.

“House Bill 112 will help uninsured and under-insured women access vital health screenings and treatment that they need, which may ultimately help to save their lives,” said Rep. Schuring. “Allowing Ohioans to donate a portion of their tax refunds to this effort will help more women access important health services and provide a safety net for thousands of Ohio’s women who otherwise may be unable to receive the treatment they need.”

“Breast and cervical cancers claim far too many lives simply because many cases are detected too late,” said Rep. Gonzales. “It is important to remain vigilant in early detection and community outreach because these are the efforts that will help get more women screened and get them life-saving treatment. The Ohio Breast and Cervical Cancer Project is a worthwhile cause that will benefit greatly from the additional resources we are providing through House Bill 112.”

House Bill 112 passed unanimously and will now move to the Ohio Senate.