Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Hoops Announces House Passage of Legislation Creating Road Improvement Fund

March 1, 2018
James M. Hoops News

COLUMBUS—State Representative James Hoops (R-Napoleon) today announced the Ohio House passage of legislation jointly sponsored by Reps. Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake) and Scott Ryan (R-Granville Township). Substitute House Bill 415 seeks to create the Local Government Road Improvement Fund, to which one half of state surplus revenue each fiscal year will be allocated. This will supply funds to local governments for road improvement projects.

The bill prevents any General Assembly from passing legislation that decreases the amount allocated to the Local Government Improvement Fund, which must be at least 1.66 percent of the General Revenue Fund. Sub. H.B. 415 also includes certain limitations in order to keep the Budget Stabilization Fund (BSF), otherwise known as the state’s Rainy Day Fund, at a sufficient balance.

Historically, surplus revenue from the General Revenue Fund has been deposited into the BSF. Beginning in fiscal year 2020, Sub. H.B. 415 provides that half of the surplus will be moved to the Local Government Road Improvement Fund, and the other fifty percent will be placed in the BSF to maintain its required level (which is 8.5 percent of the General Revenue Fund). The distribution of funds will be based on locally maintained center lane miles in each county.

“This bill will give us another tool to use that will bring funds back to the local governments so that they have the resources to fix the roads in their district,” said Hoops. “There is a need out there at the local level.”

H.B. 415 is a Buckeye Pathway bill, strengthening communities and towns by providing monetary resources for road improvement throughout the state. Something as simple as a safe road can supply an opportunity for Ohio residents.
Having passed out of the House, Substitute House Bill 415 now awaits consideration by the Ohio Senate.