Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

House Republican Leadership Team Announced for 132nd General Assembly

November 10, 2016
Republican Newsroom

COLUMBUS—State Representative and dean of the Ohio House Republican Caucus, Kirk Schuring (R-Canton), today announced that the Republican Caucus has elected its leadership team for the 132nd General Assembly.

The caucus unanimously voted to reelect Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) as Speaker of the Ohio House with Rep. Schuring being elected as speaker pro tempore. Rep. Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville) has been elected to serve as majority floor leader, Rep. Sarah LaTourette (R-Chesterland) as assistant majority floor leader, Representative-elect Tom Patton (R-Strongsville) as majority whip and Rep. Rob McColley (R-Napoleon) as assistant majority whip.

Speaker Rosenberger released the following statement in regards to today’s leadership election:

“I am humbled and extremely honored to be reelected by my friends and colleagues in the Ohio House to serve as Speaker for the 132nd General Assembly. As I have always said, we are a family, and I am proud of what we have accomplished together and look forward to witnessing what more we can achieve in the future. 

“Our caucus is blessed with great leaders, and it is a tremendous privilege to serve alongside them as we continue to promote policies that provide businesses with certainty and predictability and ensure a better quality of life for all Ohioans.  I know our caucus is eager to continue its work of honorably serving Ohio families as we close out this General Assembly and begin the next.”

In addition to the leadership announcements, Speaker Rosenberger has selected Representative-elect Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati) to serve as the Policy Chair during the 132nd General Assembly.

“I am looking forward to having Senator Seitz join our caucus in the next General Assembly as he brings with him a wealth of knowledge and experience that will greatly benefit our caucus,” said Speaker Rosenberger. “His position as Policy Chair will allow him to further utilize his expertise and be a great asset to our caucus by providing valuable insight during our many policy discussions.”

“A strong caucus demands a strong and experienced policy rudder,” said Representative-elect Seitz. “I am honored that Speaker Rosenberger has asked me to fulfill that roll as part of his leadership team.”

The official swearing in of new members and leadership positions will occur during opening day ceremonies in Columbus in January.