Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Dems join National Popular Vote Interstate Compact to restore citizen's democracy

Lawmakers say electoral college does not respect will of the people
December 1, 2016
Democratic Newsroom

State Reps. Dan Ramos (D-Lorain) and David Leland (D-Columbus) today announced they plan to introduce new legislation aimed at restoring true democracy in America by ensuring the presidential candidate that receives the greatest total of votes is the candidate that ends up in the White House. This legislation proposes that Ohio join the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact, a group of states that pledge their entire Electoral College delegation to the winner of the national popular vote during the general election.

“This is a change that is long overdue. Two-thirds of the presidents elected in my adult life will have been chosen by the Electoral College in their first term without a corresponding majority of the electorate,” said Ramos. “Our current framework does not respect the direct will of the people. This is patently undemocratic and undermines confidence in the people that we are truly a democracy.”

The National Popular Vote Interstate Compact would allow for the national popular vote for president to be chosen by the states through the Electoral College, without dictating how states choose their electors and without the need for a constitutional amendment. Instead, it would allow states to award all electoral votes to whichever candidate wins the popular vote – the vote of the people.

“For the second time in 16 years the will of the American people has been hijacked by the Electoral College. Enough is enough,” said Leland. “This National Popular Vote legislation will add Ohio to the compact of states that believe, in a true Democracy, the candidate with the most votes wins.”

The lawmakers’ proposal will not affect the outcome of this year’s presidential election. The compact will automatically go into effect when enough states join to represent an absolute electoral majority – 270 electoral votes.

Since 2007, 10 states and the District of Columbia – a total of 165 electoral votes – have joined the compact. Should Ohio join, the compact’s electoral total would jump to 183 electoral votes.