Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Reps. Creech, Koehler introduce legislation for permanent transition to daylight saving time

Published By The Register-Herald on April 19, 2021
Rodney Creech In The News

COLUMBUS, Ohio — State Reps. Rodney Creech (R-West Alexandria) and Kyle Koehler (R-Springfield) on Wednesday introduced House Concurrent Resolution 13, legislation that urges Congress to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021, which would make daylight saving time (DST) the permanent standard time.

“This resolution directs Congress to take action on enacting permanent DST nationwide,” Koehler said. “Eliminating the time change twice a year would help avoid unnecessary disruption in Ohioans’ lives.”

The bill sponsors noted the benefits of DST include additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety, and crime reduction.

“Studies have shown that year-round DST will reduce pedestrian car-accidents, reduce energy usage, and encourage physical fitness of youth since there is more time to enjoy the day,” Creech said.

Daylight Saving Time was first adopted in 1918 during World War I to conserve energy and was not formally adopted until 1966 with the Uniform Time Act. Under the Uniform Time Act, states can switch to standard time but not DST, therefore requiring a change to federal law in order to permanently transition to DST.

The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021 was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives on Jan. 4, and has been referred to the House Energy and Commerce Committee. The measure currently has bipartisan support.

H.C.R. 13 awaits its first hearing in the State and Local Government Committee.

Read Full Article