Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Rep. Koehler Honors Wittenberg University Men's Golf Team as 2017 NCAA Division III Champions

June 26, 2017
J. Kyle Koehler News

Press Release Poster

COLUMBUS—State Representative Kyle Koehler (R-Springfield) last week welcomed the Wittenberg University men’s golf team to the Ohio House to be recognized for winning the 2017 NCAA Division III Championship.

Under the direction of coaches Jeff Roope and Andy Bonar, the Wittenberg Tigers went on to win their first NCAA Division III Championship title in men’s golf with a compiled score of 1180. Team members who contributed to the winning score include Maxim Boone, Garrett Brickley, Chris Eigner, Isaac Hartley, Colin Laszlo, Ryan Mallette, Rahul Ramanathan, Curtis Salmans, Sam Stilwell, Cooper Taylor, Brennan Whitis, Cameron Willis, and Mark David Wright.

“I want to congratulate the Wittenberg men’s golf team and also Coach Roope for developing a team that consistently puts forth a combined effort that has earned them national recognition for the last eight years in this tournament,” said Rep. Koehler. “It was a joy to not only host the players, their coach, and their parents in the Ohio House chamber, but also to make my colleagues aware of the Lady Tigers golf team and their continued success in finishing third in the national tournament for the second year in a row.  I am proud to represent Wittenberg University and its incredible programs in the Ohio General Assembly.”