Skip to main content
State Seal State Seal State Seal
Home Button Home Button Home Button

Leland statement on House speaker vote

House speaker elected for first time in modern history without majority support
June 6, 2018
David Leland News

State Rep. David Leland (D-Columbus) issued the following statement in response to today’s House narrow, 11-round marathon vote to elect Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) Speaker of the Ohio House. Chaos and dysfunction have plagued the legislature since the abrupt resignation of former speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) in April, after he announced he was under FBI inquiry related to his official duties.

“After 11 rounds of voting Smith’s unremarkable ascendancy proves only one thing. The dark cloud of Republican scandal and FBI investigation still hangs heavy over the Ohio House.”